The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation Announces Johnny Bench and Sean Doolittle as the 2018 Baseball Honorees

Navy and Marine Corps Honorees to Join at Annual Award Ceremony

The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation is excited to announce the winners of the 2018 Bob Feller Act of Valor Award. This award recognizes six recipients – one Baseball Hall of Famer, one current Major League Baseball player, one U.S. Navy Chief Petty Officer, two Peer-to-Peer Mentoring Awards (one Afloat Command, one Ashore Command) and the United States Marine Corps (USMC) Jerry Coleman Award. Each honoree possesses the values, integrity, and dedication to serving our country that Bob Feller himself displayed. The winners will be honored at the sixth Annual Awards Ceremony in Washington DC at the US Navy Memorial on Monday, December 3rd.

This year, the honorees are:

Baseball Hall of Famer – Johnny Bench, Cincinnati Reds

Major League Baseball Player – Sean Doolittle, Washington Nationals

U.S. Navy Chief Petty Officer – Aviation Ordnanceman Chief Shawn M. Wingle

Peer-to-Peer Mentoring (Afloat) – U.S. Naval Mobile Construction Battalion Five in Port Hueneme, CA Peer-to-Peer Mentoring (Ashore) – Training Support Center, Great Lakes

Jerry Coleman Award winner is Gunnery Sergeant Johnathan S. Rose, USMC.

The foundation also honors the “Military Children Award” for two children whose parents serve proudly in our United States Military. This year’s winners are Cole Leffler and Alyssa Gerhart. Cole, age 14, attends W.T. Woodson High School in Fairfax, Virginia and Alyssa, age 15, attends Northpoint High School and is from Waldorf, MD.

Along with Sean Doolittle, other Major League Baseball players named finalists for the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award were: Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox; Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians; Charlie Morton, Houston Astros; Ian Kennedy, Kansas City Royals; Justin Turner, Los Angeles Dodgers; Brad Ziegler, Miami Marlins; Jimmy Nelson, Milwaukee Brewers; Steven Matz, New York Mets; David Robertson, New York Yankees; Chris Hatcher, Oakland As; Craig Stammen, San Diego Padres and Cole Hamels, Chicago Cubs (nominated by Texas Rangers). Several nominees were honored with on-field ceremonies during the season. Previous baseball winners of the award include Hall of Famers Yogi Berra, Tommy Lasorda, George Brett, Rod Carew, and Tom Seaver plus MLB players Justin Verlander, Nick Swisher, Jonathan Lucroy, Brad Ziegler, and Darren O’Day. Previous Navy, Peer to Peer, and Marine Corps honorees are Senior Chief Hospital Corpsman Garth Sinclair, Senior Chief Petty Officer Carl Thompson, Chief Petty Officer Genell Cody, Senior Chief Petty Officer Christopher Beeding, Chief Petty Officer Edmundo Brantes; and USS Carl Vinson (CVN-70), HOPPER Information Services Center, USS CONSTITUTION, Unmanned Patrol Squadron ONE NINE (VUP-19); Training Support Center Great Lakes, Staff Sergeant Rene Segura, USMC First Sergeant Marshall Cleveland, USMC, and Staff Sergeant Adam Plambeck.

Download the article.